Short Summons (A Sea “Shan’t No More”)

 

Short Summons (A Sea “Shan’t No More”)

I was a wild rover
Roving the world over,
Leaving lovers lining the shores

Till I was given short summons
For all my goings and comings
And my wife said, “You’ll do it no more.

You’ve made round the belly
Of many a Maggie and Nelly.
No one can count up your score.

Those kids need to eat
And bacon ain’t cheap,
So we’ll carve you and hang you in the door

Of the smoking shed
Where you lay down and bled
Your blood all over the floor.

You sharpened your knife
All our married life
In Barcelona, Beirut, Baltimore,

But I made the final cut,
An inverted vee in your gut,
And nothing’ll be your fault no more.”

I was a wild rover
Roving the world over,
Leaving lovers lining the shores.

But I was handed short summons
For my goings and comings
Now I’ll be going nor coming no more.
No, I’ll be going nor coming no more.

About John MacKenzie

I'll mumble for ya. Poetry, plus most things quantifiable: science, neuroscience, memory, epistemology, baseball. And so on.
This entry was posted in Art is lies, Art is theft, Harbour, Hunger, John MacKenzie, Malnutrition, Music, New poems, Poem tweets, Poetry, Poverty, Sea songs, Social Commentary, The Earth, The Sea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Mumble back at me

