A Slice of Poetry

I had the great delight a while back to be one of the persons asked by Becka Viau to contribute a poem to @readingtownpei’s A Slice of Poetry project. I wrote a depressing little poem for it, which is being used. Photo and text below.

A Slice of Poetry

A Slice of Poetry is a pizza pie showcase of local poets John Mackenzie (Charlottetown) and Rick Sparks (Summerside).

Order a pizza for delivery or take-out from Dino’s Pizza in Charlottetown and enjoy!

It is part of @readingtownpei.

A Slice of Poetry

The Sound of the Toaster

After so many years
I wake slowly and listen
For your quiet cough in the kitchen,
For the whistle of the kettle,
And the sound of the toaster’s springs
Pushed down again to darken your toast.
As the hall floor creaks beneath me
I expect, briefly, to breathe in
The faintly menthol haze of your smokes;
It lingers, I’m sure, in the walls
And the ceilings under the layers
Of wallpaper and paint
Woven between the plaster and gyprock.
There is a ringing in my ears, like hammers.

About John MacKenzie

I'll mumble for ya. Poetry, plus most things quantifiable: science, neuroscience, memory, epistemology, baseball. And so on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Mumble back at me

